Home » Archive

Articles in the January Category

Artist, January, News »

[9 Jan 2013 | No Comment | ]

Today The Traps have debuted their video for their new single Calypso out on 21st January.

Artist, January, Releases »

[24 Nov 2011 | No Comment | ]
Introducing The Ghosts and debut video for ‘Enough Time’

‘Enough Time’ is the first offering from dreamy synth-pop collective The Ghosts, and offers a tantalising glimpse of what is to come from their heartfelt debut album. Wavering between melancholy and romanticism, vocalist Alex Starling’s delicate falsetto musings drag you upwards whilst soaring unsettlingly over nostalgic soundscapes. Seductive melodies, memorable hooks and ethereal vocals combine for a compelling result.

The video is directed by Alex Kyrou and can be seen below

Artist, January, Releases »

[19 Nov 2011 | No Comment | ]
Portico Quartet to release third album in January

Portico Quartet still sound like nothing you ever heard before. The Mercury nominated East London based outfit’s unique music has expanded to embrace new sonic territories. Drawing on the inspiration of electronica, ambient, classical and dance music as they take their strange, beautiful, cinematic, future music to exciting new vistas where the inspiration of Burial, Mount Kimbie and Flying Lotus rubs shoulders with the textures of Arve Henriksen and Bon Iver and echoes of Steve Reich and Max Richter. But all underpinned by a shared joy in collective music making as the band push their inimitable music into the future.

Artist, January »

[5 Nov 2011 | No Comment | ]
Neil Cowley Trio set to release The Face Of Mount Molehill on January 23rd 2012

The Face of Mount Molehill is the magnificent new album from the Neil Cowley Trio. Following on from the trio’s critically-acclaimed 2010 release, Radio Silence, this new recording looks set to launch the music of Neil Cowley yet further into the listening public’s consciousness.

Nourishing his fondness for grand, commanding sounds, Cowley has begun a love affair with orchestration. Having spent the past year writing and arranging specifically for his trio and strings, he records, for the first time ever, with a string ensemble.

The music is expansive, dynamic and deeply engaging. With the addition of soundscape textures from guitarist Leo Abrahams, (renowned for his collaborative work with Brian Eno) the Face of Mount Molehill represents a substantial shift in direction. Comprising 12 original tracks, the album takes the listener on an exciting musical journey from pomp and splendour to poignant, lyrical episodes; from sprightly and whimsical to powerful, rhythmic melodies.

Artist, January, Releases »

[6 Jan 2011 | No Comment | ]

Australian piano trio Trichotomy ahead of their new album release ‘The Gentle War’ on 24th January on Naim Jazz announce a free download and video for the album’s opener ‘Chase’.

Artist, January, News, Releases »

[6 Jan 2011 | No Comment | ]
Portico Quartet to release Deluxe Edition of  Knee Deep In The North Sea on January 24th

Inspired after recording their second album, Isla, with legendary producer John Leckie at Abbey Road, the band decided that while they still loved Knee-Deep they would welcome the opportunity to revisit the albums mixes again. The album was duly withdrawn from circulation earlier this year and the band invited John Leckie to remix it for a re-issue on the Real World label, also home to Isla.